THE MID-DEVON CYCLING CLUB

PRESENT THE 2021 SW DC YOUTH OPEN 10 MILE TIME TRIAL

(Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations)

Saturday 3rd July Course: - Teign Valley 10

First Rider 14.01 hours Timekeeper: Ian Myers Turn Marshal – Mike Skinner

H.Q. Abbrook Park Sports Club, Strap Lane, Kingsteignton, TQ12 3PS

Allow 25 minutes to ride from H.Q to the start by turning left and towards Chudleigh, the B3193. Use the cycle path to the end. Keep on the B3193 to turn left before Chudleigh Bridge into the Teign Valley Road, still B3193. Continue over Tappers Hill to pass GM Coachworks (RH side) and the finish line to reach the start area close to the turn off for Cannonteign Falls.

Parking is available along the road between the finish line and GM Coachworks. It is also available in the side road that leads to the quarry. Parking is very limited in the start area. Please park considerately for other road users and do not block gateways.

HELMETS ARE MANDATORY AS A CONDITION OF ENTRY

Helmets that meet CTT Regulation 15 must be worn by all competitors in this event. **NO** helmet means **NO** ride. It is the rider's responsibility to ensure that their helmet meets the necessary standard.

WORKING REAR LIGHTS ARE MANDATORY – Regulation 12 (i)

COURSE DETAILS

Teign Valley 10: - Start on the Start on the B3193 at the Canonteign Junction level with the sign post on the grass triangle.

Proceed North to the road junction just before the humpback bridge and about 0.5 mile short of the B3212.

Turn around the cone into and out of the junction to retrace the outward route to pass the start point and to the finish which is level with the northern post supporting a metal gate and some 180 yards before the entrance to GM Coachworks.

Intermediate mileages:

Ashton Cross 2.0 and 6.7 miles; Turn 4.35 miles, Passing the start point 8.74 miles

Local Regulation: - All riders, on completion of their competitive ride, must continue without stopping or turning in the road back to the event H.Q. If going to a parked support vehicle then stop at the GM Coachworks entrance before turning.

Signing on, disposable numbers and signing-off will be at the event H.Q.



Have a safe and enjoyable ride – Ken Robertson, 9, Barnfield Road, PAIGNTON, TQ3 2JT robertson.swdc@gmail.com

RIDERS PLEASE BE WARNED

- Dangerous riding causes accidents and could endanger the future of the sport.
- Remain on the correct, left hand side, of the road especially on the corners
- Please ride with your head up at all times observe the Highway Code
- Give way or stop when required to do so. Observe the local regulations pertinent to the course.
- Avoid unnecessary U-turns in the road, even when warming up and especially after finishing your ride.
- Observe CTT regulations especially those relating to company riding and to following vehicles.

AWARDS

- * Fastest male GHS Medallion presented at the National final
- * Second and third place GHS Certificate presented at the National final
- * Fastest team of 3 GHS Certificate presented at the National final
- * Fastest in each age category (male of female) GHS Certificate.
- * Automatic entry for all of the above to the national final in September at Mallory Park, Leicestershire
- * All finishers Commemorative medal & certificate

No.	first name	last name	club	age	best 10	Time
1	Edward	Fraile-Whysall	Mid Devon CC	13	00:27:28	
2	Bayley	Woodger	Mid Devon CC	12	00:29:40	
3	Oliver	Wade	Wheal Velocity	15	00:23:17	
4	Henry	Howells	Mid Devon CC	16	00:25:07	
5	Thomas	Tregear	Wheal Velocity	15	00:26:21	
6	Jacob	Start	Mid Devon CC	12	00:29:44	
7	Nicholas	Makin	Wheal Velocity	15	00:23:51	
8	Archie	McGrath	Mid Devon CC	15	00:26:34	
9	Jed	Claxton	Wheal Velocity	13	00:26:36	
10	Archie	Goodwin	Mid Devon CC	16	00:28:09	
11	Ruben	Stacey	North Devon Wheelers	14	00:22:17	

George Herbert Stancer OBE (1878-1962)

The National Youth Championship was formerly known as the George Herbert Stancer 10 Mile Time Trial Championship. It is named in tribute to a man of many talents. George Herbert Stancer or GHS as he was known, in his early years was a nationally renowned performer on both cycle and tricycle holding both titles & records. Throughout his career he was a leading administrator of the sport, taking over the presidency of the C.T.C. in 1920 at a time when the membership was only about 8,500. Almost from the day he took over the membership started to grow again, and he had the satisfaction of seeing it rise to over 50,000 before his retirement in 1945. GHS was also for several years editor of cycling magazine and he continued to be active in the sport until his death in 1962. After his death a trust fund was established with aim of promoting and encouraging participation amongst the young. To this end the National Schools 10 mile championship was formed and later adopted by the RTTC, now CTT, in 1970.

